Discovering Rephotography

Have you ever heard of rephotography? I hadn’t until I met Mark Hersch and was introduced to his collection of art back in April while attending a local art show.

Rephotography is essentially the practice of splicing images together that were taken at the same place, but at different points in time. This creates an intriguing “then and now” effect that allows the spectator to view a particular area how it was “back then” and how it is in a modern world.

I absolutely love this concept. There is so much detail in one rephotography piece – So many things to pay attention to that give clues about a changing world and how we’ve coped with the changes over time.

I could seriously look at Mark Hersch’s art for hours on end. It is so beautiful.

state street south from lake street by mark hersch
“State Street South from Lake Street” by Mark Hersch

One particular piece “State Street South from Lake Street” (based in Chicago) caught my attention the day of the art show. I stared at it in wonder, wanting to memorize every single little detail. I thought it was simply brilliant.

After talking with Hersch about his piece, I realized I would definitely own it one day.

Boyfriend and I celebrated our 6th anniversary in August. He gifted me a print of this piece. I almost cried!

I am still in search of the perfect frame for it, but I can’t wait to hang it in my living room and continue to stare at it for many years. It’s just that incredible.

Leave a comment