Daring to Dance in the Early Days

Today’s Daily Prompt: What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance?

As a dancer, I could not ignore this prompt. Dancing is one of my passions and my life wouldn’t be the same without it. Nowadays, I dance in a company and am a dance minor. I do jazz, tap, ballet, pointe, hip hop, and little of some other styles, but it wasn’t always that way. I definitely did not grow up in a studio like some dancers. In fact, I didn’t even start studio dancing until high school. When I was little, I was a tomboy. The last thing I wanted to be was a ballerina.

But when it comes to my passion for dance, I guess I have my mom to thank, even though I’ve never really thought that until now. There was a time in my life when it was just Mom, Leeah, and I. My mom was single, working two jobs, raising two daughters, and life was just busy. The three of us used to get up at about 4 a.m. so that my mom could take my sister and I to the babysitter before she had to be to work at 5. Sometimes, I would sleep on the way to the sitter, but mostly I remember singing… and dancing.

At that time, and still today, our little family had a deep love for country music. It pretty much ran in our veins. At the time, “Two Pina Coladas” by Garth Brooks was a popular hit on the radio. (That was 1997. I was about 4.) My mom taught my sister and I these hand motions to go along with the song (I still remember them today), so every time the song came on the radio, Leeah and I would excitedly do the hand motions in our seats.

When I got a little older, I graduated from hand motions to all out dancing at wedding receptions. I remember going to about 3 or 4 wedding receptions as a child. I was a shy little kid. I blushed anytime someone would talk to me, but I grew up in a little family of extroverts. My mom and sister are not shy by any stretch of the imagination. So, at these wedding receptions, my mom would always pull Leeah and I out onto the dance floor, and do dances like the “Macarena” (haha, I didn’t know there was a music video until now) and “The Electric Slide” (oh, ’90s, you were wonderful).

A number of other little dance milestones followed: My fifth grade performance of “The Electric Slide” at a showcase, more wedding receptions, school dances in middle school and high school, as well as my high school dance showcases. I learned a lot of what I know by simply watching other people.

Now, I’m here, where my life is full of dance 24/7. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

11 thoughts on “Daring to Dance in the Early Days

  1. Enjoyed your post. I didn’t take a dance class until I was 30 years old (jazz) and now, 30 years later, I still love to dance around my house. Have taken all kinds of classes (except no hip hop!) and loved every single one. Now I go to performances and dance vicariously 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

