Monday Madness

This day started off horrible.

My alarm went off at 6 a.m., which is usually the time I wake up on Mondays (why the heck I chose that, I don’t know. Things become much clearer in hindsight). But today, I just couldn’t get myself to get out of my bed. I had a serious case of the Mondays. Like, I was contemplating skipping all three of my classes today. And I am not a class skipper. My throat hurt, I was tired, and it was freaking arctic in my room. I knew that as soon as I pulled the blankets back, I would turn into an ice cube.

I really wasn’t feeling it.

But, as soon as I made an executive decision to stay in my warm little fluffy heaven, my annoying nerdy kid conscience made me come to my senses. So, I got out of bed with about 40 minutes to get ready and be sitting in my class at the university 25 minutes away. I seriously thought I was going to be late to class. I was running around the house throwing clothes on, my breakfast in one hand, blow dryer in the other. At one point, my sister shouts from her bedroom in her warm little cocoon of blankets (hate her… not really):

“Hey, Bekka! Are you still here?”

Me (hurriedly throwing things in my backpack and trying to tie my shoe at the same time): “Yes.”

“Girl, you better hurry! You’re going to be so late!”

NOT. HELPING.

So anyway, I finally run out to my car, sling my backpack into the backseat, and pull out of my driveway. All I can say is that this morning, without a doubt, Vin Diesel would have been really proud of me. My mad driving skills got me to school and in my classroom with 4 minutes to spare. Phew! That was a close one.

After almost completely spacing out through two of my classes (don’t judge me), I checked my e-mail and found out that my third class was cancelled. Ok, so usually I have 3-hour break between classes 2 and 3. So usually I stay on campus and study in that 3-hour gap. Not having class 3 today enabled me to go home 3 HOURS EARLY!! I was ecstatic! On top of that, I didn’t have dance rehearsal or any type of meeting to attend. I had the entire afternoon off. Now, on a normal day, my nerdy kid self would use the time to catch up on homework, maybe even get ahead.

NOPE! Season one of One Tree Hill got my full and undivided attention… Oh, and my chocolate cake. That was delicious, by the way.

Long story short, this Monday turned out to be one of the few great ones. Oh, and that quiz I talked about earlier… 100%. Whaddup, people?!

This is proof that some Mondays can turn out alright. But for those of you who had a completely horrible Monday, don’t worry. Tomorrow is Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

