Pop Quiz Paranoia

No joke, you guys. The story I’m about to tell you actually happened.

As some of you know, I’m a student at IU South Bend. I am taking 18 credit hours this semester, am part of a dance company and a sorority, and have a part time job.

Moral of the story: I am a busy person.

My International Perpectives on Women class has these assigned readings every week. Sometimes, the readings are from our textbook. Other times we have to read case studies. About a week ago, I was really struggling to keep up with everything that was due (yeah…it was only the third week of school), so I decided that I would read the assigned chapter, but not take any notes over it.

Okay, stop there.

I AM A RELIGIOUS NOTE -TAKER. If I don’t take notes, I feel like I have failed as a student. What if I forget something? I can’t rely on my memory alone to remember all this, right?! (We’ll get to that in a minute)

So anyway, I didn’t take notes over the entire chapter.

The next day…

Professor: “Before we discuss the reading for today, I want to give you guys a pop quiz. You can use your notes, just not the reading itself.”

Crap!

At this point I’m literally shaking. Sure, I read the case study, but I didn’t study it. I gave it a once over. That surely did not do my brain justice in memorizing the material. I can not fail this.

So, here I am, taking my quiz, completely mortified that I have nothing but my own poor memory to rely on. Not going to lie here, I wrote a bunch of BS for at least one of the questions. The others were fairly simple.

Results from that quiz: 100%

BOOM! I’m a freaking genius.

Well… Maybe not…

Last night, I was doing the reading for this class again. It was late, and I honestly needed a break, so I decided again to skip the note-taking. After all, this professor totally wasn’t going to do another pop quiz. That’s too predictable. There’s no way.

Today…(I kid you not)

Professor: “Before we get into today’s discussion, I want to hand out another pop quiz.”

She’s going to kill me. First, I’ll break out in hives. Then, I’ll die.

Anyway… Question 2 got some BS. As for the rest of it, I guess we will see on Monday.

Leave a Reply

